District leaders Jim Walker left, David Govus right in Cooper Creek
District Leaders Jim Walker and David Govus in the Cooper Creek Watershed Project area. Photo provided by Laura LeMay

Your eyes and ears in the forest.

District leaders are knowledgeable volunteers who monitor our forests on the ground. They know how to navigate complex government red tape and interpret U.S. Forest Service project proposals, and they work closely with our staff forest ecologist to effect positive change in how our forests are managed. If you are interested in becoming a district leader or assistant, please contact us at 706-867-0051 or at info@gafw.org.

Current District Leaders

Conasauga Ranger District:

West Side:
Robin Hitner 678-294-3256 (Chattooga, Gordon, Murray, Floyd, Walker & Whitfield counties)
East Side:
David Govus 706-276-2512 (Fannin & Gilmer counties)

Blue Ridge Ranger District:

Jim Walker 706-273-3465 (Fannin, Gilmer, Lumpkin & Union counties)
Tom & Sally Colkett 770-316-7609 (Dawson & Lumpkin counties)

Chattooga River Ranger District:

Ben Cash 706-968-3841 (Habersham, Stephens & White counties)
Marie Dunkle 770-335-0967 (Rabun, Towns & White counties)

Oconee Ranger District:

JP Schmidt 706-613-8483 (Greene, Jasper, Jones, Monroe, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe & Putnam counties)
Larry Winslett 404-375-8405 (Greene, Jasper, Jones, Monroe, Morgan, Oconee, Oglethorpe & Putnam counties)

For detailed specifications about the duties of a Georgia ForestWatch district leader check out the document below.

District Leader Duties